Historically, the village has several special features, including Het Posthuys (the Post House), Rhodes’ Cottage and the site of the Battle of Muizenberg.
Rhodes’ Cottage is a small house on the seafront that Cecil Rhodes bought as a holiday cottage and this was where he died in 1902. The house is preserved as a museum dedicated to Rhodes’ life and is open to the public.
Het Posthuys is one of the oldest buildings in South Africa, dating to circa 1742. It was built by the Dutch East India Company (Vereenigde Oost-Indische Compagnie or VOC) as a toll-house to levy a tax on farmers passing by to sell their produce to ships lying in Simon’s Bay. One of the early postholders was Sergeant Muys (meaning “mouse”), from whom Muizenberg (formerly Muysenbergh and Muys Zijn Bergh (Muys’ mountain) before that) gets its name. After a varied career as a police station, stables, brothel, hotel and private house. You can now visit it to see a small collection of photos and items of interest relating to early days in Muizenberg.
Muizenberg has a fine, long beach that in effect stretches all the way round the top of False Bay to the Strand, a distance of over 20 km.
Above Muizenberg there is a line of steep cliffs that is very popular as a venue for rock climbing. However, certain parts of the cliff are off-limits to climbers when birds nest on the ledges.
The Zandvlei estuary enters the ocean in Muizenberg. The estuary is one of the most important estuaries for fish spawning on the coastline and is home to the Imperial Yacht Club and Peninsula Canoe Club.